We Mutilated Our Son…Have Some Chicken

Standard

Last week, Leah called me into the main office because a parent had brought fried chicken for the teachers at our school to enjoy.  I was pumped.  I would gladly work overtime or take a pay cut for fried chicken, so this was really like a dream come true.  Apparently the kid’s father worked at the fried chicken joint and wanted to bestow a gift upon us for putting up with his son.  I sat down next to Leah and started muchin’ on a drumstick.

“He’s missed a lot of school lately,” Leah said, talking about the student.

“Yeah, I noticed.”

“It is because he had penis cut operation.”

For the sake of comedy, I wish I’d done a double take or started choking on the chicken.  In reality, though, I kept right on eating.  “Say that again?”

“What is word…” she said, thinking.  “When the skin at end of the penis is taken off?”

“Circumcised.”

“Yes, he was circumcised.”

“Isn’t he a bit old for that?  How old is he?”

“He’s 12.  His parents thought it would be good.”

I nodded, reaching for a breast.  “Personally, I’m happy to be circumcised.”

Leah nodded too, using a Kleenex to wipe the grease off her fingers.  After that, neither of us talked much.

“Well, this chicken is delicious,” I finally said.  “I’m glad that boy was circumcised.”

Leah agreed, and we ate a few more pieces before the next class started.

*

31 thoughts on “We Mutilated Our Son…Have Some Chicken

  1. Oh my. That’s an odd combination. I love the blasé reactions though. :) I think I can keep eating through almost anything, to be honest.

    Oh, and apparently I’m not the only one who thought of the wrong kind of b.. Ah, let’s not go there.

  2. I’ve been doing some research on how to get more readers on my blog, and one of the tips was use catchy titles. You nailed it on the head on that one. Mutilation and fried chicken? You had me at mutil. Is there a better way to celebrate the loss of part of a boys penis than fried chicken? I think not!

    http://www.adamtelian.com

  3. Great post. Personally, I think it’s disgusting to lop a piece of off another person’s body without their consent. I feel the say way about piercing a baby’s ears or giving a child a tattoo.

    But everything is better with fried chicken!

    • Hey, I don’t want my penis looking like an Amish doll, so I’m all good with the circumcision decision being made for me. And, to be honest, I would’ve felt good with an earring and a tattoo as well.

  4. I’m a little blase about circumcision too. In the Philippines, it’s SOP. All guys get circumcised. guys who get circumcised wear skirt ( older guys ). Most circumcision are done during summer vacations. That makes sense. A guy can’t wear a skirt to school.

Leave a Reply

